December Guest Blogger Submission Open

December’s theme is: The Impossible Holiday;  Deadline: December 7, 2012

As you know, I tried a Guest Blogger feature back in October. I had only one submission for a three-month term and I needed to think about how to make this feature work both for my readers and for myself. So here’s what I came up with: I’ll announce a theme and accept submissions from potential guest bloggers through the first seven days of each month. I will post the top five submissions at varying times through the month. Selected contributors will be able to have a brief bio and a link on a static page on S & I. You need not be a professional writer to participate! My goal is to highlight different perspectives and to provide a small forum for creative thought. Interested? Read the guidelines:

  • Guest posts can be fiction, poetry, or nonfiction but must be under 1,000 words.
  • Guest posts must fit the theme in some way, but writers are encouraged to play with the theme and think outside the box.
  • I will select no more than 5 for inclusion on S&I. Selections will be based on creativity and how well they 1) entertain or 2) encourage readers to think in a different way. Not being selected is not an indication of a poor quality submission.
  • Submissions must be typed in the body of an email sent to me no later than December 7, 2012. Put “GUEST BLOGGER DECEMBER” in the subject header of that email and include a brief bio and the link you’d like me to include on S&I. Submitting in this manner constitutes permission for me to use your submission with your byline but without providing payment of any kind. I reserve the right to edit for grammar prior to posting.
  • If you don’t have a website of your own (or you’re just nice that way), you can include a link to a nonprofit organization that you’d like readers to consider supporting. I reserve the right to veto links to nonprofits that support hateful and/or discriminatory activities or that have discriminatory policies. If I do, I will give the writer the opportunity to decline publication on S&I as a result of that decision.
Leave a Reply

